Polly's Papercrafts

Welcome Friend!

Welcome to Polly’s Papercrafts!

Hi there, welcome to my first ever blog post! Exciting, I know. I am sitting here at my desk with a cup of tea, hoping I don’t get writer’s block on the very first post, how embarrassing would that be!

I suppose a little bit about me would be a good place to start. My name is Emma (Hello!) and I am 22 years old.

I live in England with my mum in a little house perfect for the 2 of us. My day job is a Teaching Assistant at a Primary school and I currently work with Year 3 (not sure what the grade equivalent is in America…), and I know I am lucky because I can honestly say that I love going to work! Weird, I know…most people dread Monday mornings but I really don’t mind them. Of course, that doesn’t mean I would say no to extra hours in bed…come on, I’m not crazy!

I would say I have always been creative in some way or another, whether that is imagining stories and games to drawing lots of pictures when I was little (not that drawing has ever been my strong point…it’s really not). When I was about 15 I discovered scrapbooking, and I mean proper scrapbooking. Not just sticking photos into a book in a nice orderly manner, but creating something wonderful with patterned paper, stickers, embellishments and all manner of things, all for the sole purpose of displaying 1 or 2 photos and recording the story.

Recording the story. That really stuck with me.

My very first scrapbook was for our first family trip to Disney World, Florida in 2009. I was 16 and determined to take lots of photos, collect receipts, tickets, FastPasses, napkins, menus, park maps, everything. You name it, I probably collected it on that trip. I mean, I’d seen the videos I knew what I needed. I bought an album from the Disney shop along with a pack of 12″x12″ paper with stickers, I got home, printed off my photos, sat down with it spread around me…and didn’t know where to start. I was gutted! I stared at the blank pieces of paper not knowing where to start. I stared at the patterned paper that looked so pretty, I really didn’t want to cut into it. I was stuck…so of course, my 16 year old self turned to the internet and got even more confused with the amount of information that was thrown at me. Eventually I decided I’d start with scrapbook page sketches and once that was decided I dived straight in…

Looking back at that scrapbook now, I know it’s a bit crap. I don’t like the colours, I didn’t use the patterned paper to its potential and it all looks a bit plain. But it was a start and it recorded the holiday, it does the job of bringing back awesome memories when I look at it. And I must admit, that despite the rocky start, I was hooked on the world of crafting. The art of taking paper and turning it into something pretty special. Since then I have created another 12″x12″ scrapbook, a travel mini album for a friend and an album for a friend to give as an 18th birthday present, amongst many other things.

Which brings me nicely to now…I started out with traditional scrapbooking and have recently discovered card making (through the wonders that are Kristina Werner and Jennifer McGuire, who are an inspiration to many I’m sure), I have a Smash book on the go currently and I am being tempted constantly by Project Life which I am sure to succumb to eventually. So I started this blog, Polly’s Papercrafts, so I can share my love for all things crafty with you guys, as well as anything else that might crop up…you never know what might happen when life gets in the way.

Thanks for reading to the end, it turned out longer than I expected, so much for writers’ block!image

Leave a Reply

