Polly's Papercrafts

What’s In A Name?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose

By any other name would smell as sweet.”

Romeo and Juliet (II, ii, 1-2)

Hello again, you’ve decided to continue reading the potential ramblings of me..yay!
To the eagle-eyed among you, you may have noticed that I said in my first post that my name is Emma. That’s right, I am Emma (hello again!)…My name is Emma Louise in fact. So why, you may ask, did I call my blog Polly’s Papercrafts when that is clearly not my name?

Well, the answer to that wonderful question is todays blog post. So, after such a tantalizing start, sit back, relax and join me on my ramble…Β πŸ˜€

The answer to that question is actually a pretty simple one, so this may not be so much of a ramble as a wander. Most probably down Memory Lane for me. The long and short of it is, I called my blog Polly’s Papercrafts because of my brother. His name is Adam, and he is now a Professional Golfer. I am incredibly proud of him, a fact which I am sure he is aware of. For as long as I can remember he has called me Polly rather than Emma, and to be perfectly honest with you I’ve never fully understood why, especially as I just call him Adam. So it’s always just been a nice nickname that he used for me.

Now I mentioned above that Adam is now a Professional Golfer, however when he left school he originally went straight into the RAF (Royal Air Force). Eventually, he decided to leave the military and pursue his dream of making golf his career. Which, and I don’t think he does realise this bit, I admire a lot, it was a risk to leave a good job and begin a career in something where there is no guarantee of success. But golf had become his passion and his dream and it ultimately comes down to, why the hell not?

So to the original question, why call it Polly’s Papercrafts? Well thinking of a name is HARD! I mean really hard! Everything I thought of using my name either sounded silly or unoriginal and definitely not memorable. Then I thought about Adam and his passion and drive, which is how I feel about setting up this blog (as silly as it sounds) and that brought me to Polly. My nickname, from my lovely, inspiring big brother. After a bit of thought, I landed on Polly’s Papercrafts. And do you know what? I like it, so I’m keeping it. πŸ˜€

So I ask you, my fabulous reader, what did you (or would you) call your blog, and why?

image

P.S. Check out my Instagram, Pinterest and YouTube accounts. First video coming to my YouTube channel soon! Yay! #soexcitedΒ 
Leave a Reply

