rock-and-roller-coaster-12x12

12×12 Scrapbook Layout | Rock & Roller Coaster

After being inspired by the likes of Adele Toomey (Inkie Quill) and Suse Fish (faithhopewashi), I decided I would try 12×12 scrapbooking again. 

After rooting around in some boxes and drawers, attempting to have a clear out, I got distracted by a photo. Immediately, my mind said ‘Scrap it!’ – as in put it on a layout, not throw it away. The horror! 

Now, I’ll be honest with you because we’re all friends here, I haven’t done a proper 12×12 layout since I was…hmm…16 maybe 17, and like I said in a previous blog post, I did not like it. However, like I mentioned above, I’ve been inspired recently. Adele (Inkie Quill) and Suse (faithhopewashi) are amazing. They manage to create such clean, bright, fresh layouts with apparent ease – incredible! So I thought I’d give it a go…

I started off OK, I had some 12×12 white cardstock that I knew I wanted to use as my main background. I like the clean look of the white space. Then I ran into some trouble…I’ve been Smash booking for the past 2 years and haven’t thought about 12×12’s for ages. I realised after I’d started this layout that a big difference between the two is that Smash booking doesn’t require lots of embellishments e.g. die cuts, enamel dots, wood veneer and all the pretty things that round out and complete a layout. Smash booking requires a couple of photos and other ‘stuff’ you collect.

I am severely lacking in the pretty stuff.

Close up of 12x12 layout Rock & Roller CoasterInstead, I broke out my Tim Holtz Distress Inks, water and paintbrushes, picked out some colours in the photo and got to work on a messy (artfully so, I hope) background. A wash of Salty Ocean and some splatters of Peacock Feathers, Evergreen Bough and Mowed Lawn. Looking good I thought. I ran into trouble when choosing papers to mat my photo. Again, I am quite limiting in my supplies, as I only have 1 (yes,1!) paper pad which I think is a Papermania one called Songbird. If you watch my YouTube video (at the bottom of this post) you will be able to see first-hand how long I faffed with the paper – it was a pain to say the least. 12x12 Scrapbook layout Rock and Roller Coaster title

In the absence of a box full of assorted Thickers and other alphabet stickers, I decided to utilise what I had e.g. Black Soot Distress ink, water and paintbrush. I attempted to brush script my title onto the page and I think it turned out quite well. For makeshift embellishments, I used a circle punch and some dark blue cardstock and scattered the circles on the page.

I was actually really happy with the way my layout turned out and although I ran into a few issues, it was quite fun to challenge myself to use what I had to create a layout. Limited supplies don’t have to be a bad thing. 

Check out my video (below) to see the full process. You can find the supply list is below the video.

Signature

Supplies:

Leave a Reply

