Sewing Themed Card

It was a good friends’ birthday today and she loves to sew. So I decided I would make her a card, lovely friend that I am 😇

   I hand drew the sewing machine on a piece of white cardstock, using a Google image as a reference. I then used my favourite Distress Inks and Markers to colour in the sewing machine. 

I mainly used Tumbled Glass for the front of the sewing machine, allowing the watercolour to dry before going in with the same colour again to darken and give shading. On the side of the sewing machine I used a touch of Salty Ocean Distress Ink to give a bit more dimension. Also as a personal touch I added my friends initials. I carefully fussy cut the sewing machine out and set it to one side.

 For the background, I decided to use my Spun Sugar Distress Ink, which is the lightest colour I have, to loosely sketch and colour in some pink blobs that I would then turn into roses. To give detail to the roses I used Picked Raspberry with a very light touch, and blotted away most of the colour almost instantly with a baby wipe to take away the harsh contrast in colour.  Just enough to give detail without being too ‘much’!

Once done I added some small leaves using Mowed Lawn with water, then to give the leaf line down the centre used Mowed Lawn with an almost dry brush.

To finish, I outlined the sewing machine with black to make it stand out and popped it up on some foam squares. Finally, as a finishing touch, I stamped the ‘sew lovely’ from an Urban Stamps collection with Ranger Archival ink in Jet Black.

Really pleased with how this turned out! And my friend was thrilled!

Signature

Supplies:

 

Leave a Reply

