“Smile” Scrapbook Layout

Crate Paper Wonder collection is gorgeous but…

  1. It is really freaking hard to cut into because it’s so pretty!
  2. I really should have got 2 of some papers…*kicks self*

So it took me a while but I managed to cut into the August Like For Ever kit which was harder than I thought. It took the rational part of the brain to kick in and say, “It’s just paper!” (Of course we know it’s not just paper, but thats a whole other topic.) Even so, I decided to cut into my least favourite papers of the collection, you know, to lessen the blow!

I decided to scrap a photo of my Grandad who is unfortunately no longer with us, but this photo is one I absolutely love because it is exactly how I remember him. It’s a very natural shot; eyes closed, in the middle of a good giggle. Perfect.

I started on plain white 12×12 cardstock trimmed down 1/2″ on two sides so I could mat it on the Blackberry cardstock that came in the kit. I liked the look of the navy all around the edge. I thought it gave the layout a masculine start and knew it wouldn’t make much different if I ended up using touches of pink.

I used mostly products from the August kit apart from a Wood Venner border sticker that came from Pinkfresh Studios (last months kit) and a couple of DIY flair that I had spent the morning making.

Take a look…

Close up of left side of Smile layout - Polly's Papercrafts

I matted the photo on the ‘B’ side of the Happy Hello paper then used the bingo card from the die cuts pack as another layer. A blue felt heart and the pink ‘G’ banner formed a small cluster at the top left corner of the photo. I also wrote “Grandad” with a small heart directly on the photo, it’s completely covered by the banner, so you have to lift it up slightly to see. The blue dotty heart is one of my own DIY epoxy flairs.

Right hand side of the photo on the Smile layout - Polly's Papercrafts

The strips that stretch across the page under the photo are from the “My Dear” paper. I made use of the branding strip and 2 more strips showing both sides of the paper, along with 2 strips of the American Crafts washi tape that also came in the kit.

Full layout of Smile - Polly's Papercrafts

I really enjoyed making this layout and think the photo of my Grandad stands out nicely. If you would like to see the process of the page then please do check out the video linked below. 

Thank you for reading, please feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Signature

If you would like to find out more about Like For Ever please click the logo below:Full Like For Ever logo

**Please note: I am a customer of Like For Ever and have not affiliated links to them. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.

 

Leave a Reply

