Scrapbook Layout – #Besties

So everyone has a friend who’s been around for everything; all the good, the bad, the highs and the lows. For me, that’s Laura. 

We have been friends since Year 7 (the start of secondary school), so that is coming up 12 years of friendship. So, ok 12 years. You’re thinking, that’s a long time, you must have a ton of photos to scrap.

Erm..Nope!

We’re so bad. 12 years of friendship and I think I could count the amount of photos we have together on my hands. That’s awful. I think when we were at school neither of us wanted to be in photos – and selfies weren’t really a thing.

When we went on holiday in October last year, I was already Smash Booking and knew I wanted to document the holiday. So we made a conscious effort to take photos, as we did when we went to the Harry Potter Studio Tour in January ’15. So we’re getting better. In this layout I’m using one of the photos from the holiday. It was a grey, very windy day, but we got some good photos on the beach.

Take a look:

#Besties layout - Full photo. like for ever September 2015 kit

I am using the like for ever September 2015 kit which contains the Pink Paislee Cedar Lane collection and so far I am loving it. The colours in this collection are just so “me”.

As you can see I tried my hand at a bit of mixed media by mixing some gesso with my Salty Ocean Distress Ink and using a palette knife to scrape it onto my page. By scraping it on, it meant I had some variation in colour and coverage. I had also discovered that the WOW! Totally Teal Glitter Embossing Powder I had in my stash matched the Thickers really well, so added some of that to my background too!

#Besties layout - Close up of the gesso background and title.

I matted my photo first on some white cardstock and then on the Arrow Avenue paper, both A and B sides, and then the 5th Avenue paper. I rifled through my die cut pack to choose the ephemera I wanted to use and stuck down my title using the Fitzgerald Teal Glitter Thickers.

#Besties layout - Close up of the embellishments and PPP sequins#Besties layout - Close up of the bottom right hand side including journalling.

In the end this has turned out to be one of my favourite layouts to date. I loved playing with the gesso background, as well as adding in the embossing powder and playing with the sequins. 

If you would like to see my full process, then please check out the video linked below. Hope to see you again soon!

Signature

If you would like to find out more about Like For Ever please click the logo below:Full Like For Ever logo

**Please note: I am a customer of Like For Ever and have not affiliated links to them. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.

One thought on “Scrapbook Layout – #Besties

Leave a Reply

