Sketch It Out with Claudia and Emma #5

Sketch It Out with Claudia & Emma #5

It was my turn to choose the sketch for Claudia and I and I found this one on Shimelle’s blog.  

Its super simple but that is part of the reason I was drawn to it. It showcases just one photo, meaning that is the centre of attention, while keeping the rest of the page quite simple. Another part that I liked is the fact that it is totally open to interpretation. You could look at the sketch and see it as a base, then go totally crazy with embellishments, whilst still showcasing one photo.

Sketch It Out with Claudia and Emma #5

Flicking back through some older photo’s I came across one of me and my brother which was taken back in 2006. My brother was 17 and I was around 13 years old. It was taken on the day of Adam’s graduation from basic training in the Royal Air Force. I was so incredibly proud of him and he looked so smart in his uniform and “So Proud” is my title for this layout.

Take a look…

Full layout for Sketch It Out #5 - So Proud

I used plain white cardstock for my background along with products from my September like for ever kit which has all loveliness from Pink Paislee’s Cedar Lane collection.

The photo itself is very blue with the seats in the background and Adam’s uniform so I used the Riverside Lane paper (the gorgeous teal with aqua polka dot) as the paper for the centre piece. I then layered my photo on some of the gold foil triangle vellum that came in my August like for ever kit – which admittedly I have been hoarding, it’s so pretty!

Close up of embellishment - Sketch It Out #5 "So Proud"

Close up of title "So Proud" - Sketch It Out #5

I popped up the whole centre panel using some cardboard. I only have small foam squares and to pop up the whole piece would have taken FOREVER! I don’t have the patience for that LOL! So I used double sided tape and cardboard which gave just the right amount of dimension.

I used the Fitzgerald Thickers in Teal Glitter for my title and gave it a base using a woodgrain banner from the die cut pack. The rest of the embellishments are also from the die cut pack including those gold foiled acetate pieces. The sequins are from Pretty Pink Posh with an exclusive mix of colours for like for ever! So pretty! And getting them to look randomly scattered is A LOT harder than it looks!

I hope you enjoyed the post and if you would like to see the full process then the YouTube video will be linked below! 

I also encourage you to check out Claudia’s video to see the difference in results, her layout are always gorgeous and this one is no exception!

Signature

 

You can also now find me on Bloglovin” – see you there!

4 thoughts on “Sketch It Out with Claudia & Emma #5

Leave a Reply

